Musings on metal and its evolving demography

Welcome to Metal Kingdom

Wifey and I just watched a short documentary last night called “Welcome to Metal Kingdom“. In 35 minutes, it tells the story of Metal Kingdom, a small metal-centric music store in Queens, NY, that also served as a venue and gathering place for metalheads. Her write-up of the documentary can be found here:

Metal KingdomGrowing up, I was mainly around the lower Westchester and Bronx bands. I was somewhat aware of the stuff happening in Manhattan, Queens and the burgeoning metal/hardcore scene in Brooklyn. I didn’t get out there much though, because I really hated going to the city and the boroughs. Its a constant fight with traffic, and the parking gods are always displeased with me. Yeah, I should have taken the train more.

Anyway, the documentary focuses on the Latino metal scene in Queens, via the struggles of Metal Kingdom to stay afloat. On the way, we’re introduced to members of several Latino-driven metal and grind bands, including some with female members. To me, it was a very interesting snapshot of the early half of the 2000’s and how that spot looked. I really feel for Salvador Gil, who opened Metal Kingdom as a labor of love, apparently took out a loan against his house to renovate it, and ultimately was red-taped into dissolving it. My dad ran small businesses as well, and as a teen in the 90s and 20-something in the early 2000’s, I helped with them, and ultimately saw poor decisions dry them up, so although its a little different, it still strikes a chord with me.

Those of you who are interested in seeing the video can enjoy this:

Denise Gaberman, who filmed, directed and produced the documentary also had a blog about it on WordPress. It can be found here:

Leave a Reply

