Musings on metal and its evolving demography

Musical Assault!!! (Black Metal, Afrobeat & Frantz Fanon)

Since posting a bit about metal in Botswana last week, I was thinking about a paper wifey wrote a few years ago about the evolution of Norwegian Black Metal and that of Nigerian Afrobeat, as viewed through the philosopher Frantz Fanon‘s “three stages of native intellectual”. Here’s a reblog of her original post, along with my thoughts & summary from a few years ago on my bass blog.

I think that when there’s time, we need to revisit this and really expand on it. So much has been written about black metal in the past few years, and I have yet to read through all of Fanon’s works.

ontheshelves

As part of my Anthropology of Music and Art Class, I had to write a final paper for the semester on a topic related to what we’ve been studying. It’s made up of my review from the Afrobeat book as mentioned earlier on this blog.  Inclusion of paper one (the book review) was required as part of our assignment. I also wrote up an annotated bibliography (a very librarian thing to do) but didn’t attach it. If you’re interested in reading it, contact me via comment/email and I’ll let you know.

I thank my husband in offering sage editing advice and critique! Thanks!

View original post 3,658 more words

Leave a Reply

